Hansel & Gretel

past show

Hansel & Gretel is one of the best known of the Grimms’ Tale, the most important and influential Western collection of folk tales ever published. In our retelling we have honoured the original but added our own spin by framing the story from the witch’s point of view.

Scholars say there is no psychology in a fairy tale: if people are good they are good and if bad, they’re bad. You may think our witch is funny and not all that bad, but finally she shows her true colours and meets a very sorry end indeed, which is exactly as it should be in the tradition of the tales.

Cast

Amy Alexander
Stephen Collins
Caroline Parker

Creative & Production Team

Devised by the company. Text by Wendy Rouse
Directed by  – Amanda Wilde and Wendy Rouse
Set  – Dorrie Scott (based on an original design by Laura McEwen)
Lighting Design – Alexandra Stafford
Movement Direction – Ian Dolan
Songs composed/arranged by – Amy Alexander
Sound Design and Stage Manager – Ben Dew
Wardrobe Supervisor – Tim Heywood (Head of Wardrobe, Derby Theatre)
Set Construction – Tim Brierly
Scenic Painting – Houghton Wyatt
Company BSL Interpreter – Karen Perry
Rehearsal BSL Interpreter – Rebekah Cupit and Jill Henshaw
Student Volunteer, Nottingham Trent University – Laura Stone

Red Earth General Manager – Kitty Parker
Associate Artist – Laura McEwen
Associate Artist – Dominic Mallin

Tour Dates

Past Show

Mon 27 October 2014
New Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich


Tues 28, Wed 29 October 2014
The Albany Deptford


Thurs 30, Fri October 31 2014
CAST in Doncaster


Sun 2 November 2014
The Lowry, Salford Quays


Tues 4 November 2014
The Slaberg, Salisbury Playhouse


Wed 5 November 2014
Bob Kayley Studio, University of Reading


Thurs 6 November 2014
Friedland School, Sandiacre, Derbyshire


Fri 7 November 2014
Biddulph Moor Village Hall, Staffordshire


Sun 9 November 2014
Lakeside Theatre Nottingham


Sun 16 November 2014
Cambridge Junction


Wed 19 November 2014
Arena Theatre Wolverhampton


Sat 22 November 2014
Embrace Arts Leicester


Sun 23 November 2014
Jacksons Lane


Fri 28 November 2014
Great Witley Village Hall


Sat 29 November 2014
No 8 Community Arts Centre


Sat 6 December 2014
Quarterhouse Folkestone


Sun 7 December 2014
Cornerstone, Didcott


Tues 9 – Sun 28 December 2014
The Studio, Derby Theatre